[Skip to Content]

2023 AIA Greenville Awards Now Open!

Click here to download the 2023 AIA Greenville Call for Entries


AIA Greenville has a long-standing tradition of recognizing individuals, organizations, and projects that exemplify the values of Greenville architects and improve the quality of life in the communities we serve. The Design Awards seeks to highlight the diverse range of project types produced by AIAG members to elevate the general quality of architectural practice, establish a standard of excellence against which all architects can measure performance, and inform the public of the importance of design. It is with this intent that we establish the following awards:

I. Design Awards - Professional

  • New Construction Award Residential Award
  • Adaptive Reuse/Historic Preservation Award
  • Interior Architecture Award
  • Unbuilt Project Award
  • Small Project Award
  • Humanitarian Impact Commendation
  • People's Choice Commendation

II. Design Awards - Student

  • Student Project Award

III. Service Awards

  • James A. Neal Distinguished Service Award
  • Community Patron Award
  • Emerging Professional/Young Architect Award

Framework for Design Excellence
In response to AIA’s commitment to climate action, AIA Greenville has incorporated sustainability measures from the AIA COTE Top 10 Toolkit – now the Framework for Design Excellence – into the judging criteria for Professional Design Awards. Submissions are required to address one or more of the ten measures included in the Framework:

  1. Design for Integration
  2. Design for Equitable Communities
  3. Design for Ecosystems
  4. Design for Water
  5. Design for Economy
  6. Design for Energy
  7. Design for Well-being
  8. Design for Resources
  9. Design for Change
  10. Design for Discovery

On the submission form, you will see open-ended prompts to briefly describe how your design achieves outcomes for these measures. Please address at least one measure, but we encourage you to address any measures that are relevant to your project. The goal of including the Framework of Excellence is to promote the sustainable design work of our members and to support AIA’s Resolution for Urgent and Sustained Climate Action.

All entries in the Design Awards - Professional category group shall be projects executed and designed by AIAG members, or project teams consisting of at least one AIAG member in good standing and with an office in South Carolina. Projects may have been executed anywhere in the United States or abroad and must have been substantially completed after January 1, 2018. The number of entries submitted by a firm or individual is not limited. Projects that have previously won an AIAG award are not eligible in that category. All projects, regardless of size, budget, style, building type, or location are eligible. Entries are welcomed and encouraged from both established and new practitioners at any size firm.

All entries in the Design Awards - Student category shall be projects executed and designed by students currently enrolled in an architecture degree program, or those who have graduated after January 1, 2021. Students may enter individually or in teams and must be sponsored by an instructor or professor who is an AIAG member in good standing.

All nominations for a Service Award shall be made by an AIAG member in good standing. Nominees for the James A. Neal Distinguished Service Award and the Emerging Professional/Young Architect Award must be members of AIAG in good standing.

All entrants in the professional design awards program must be able to answer 'Yes' to the Unpaid Labor Declaration Policy on the submission form. See the 2023 AIAG CFE for more information.

June 23, 2023           Awards portal opens 
July 23, 2023            Deadline for early bird discounted entry fees.
August 4, 2023         Submissions must be completed no later than 11:59 p.m. ET

August 7, 2023         Awards portal opens 
September 1, 2023   Submissions must be completed no later than 11:59 p.m. ET

New Construction, Residential, Adaptive Reuse/Historic Preservation, Interior Architecture, Unbuilt Project, and Small Project:
$100 per submission until July 23 ($125 after July 23)

Student Project Award:
No registration fee

James A. Neal Distinguished Service Award, Community Patron Award, and Emerging Professional/Young Architect Award:
$50 per submission until July 23 ($75 after July 23)

No refunds will be issued for Design Awards or Service Awards submission fees.

Contact aiagreenville@gmail.com


Click here to start a submission.