[Skip to Content]


AIASC has a long tradition of recognizing individuals, organizations, and projects for exemplifying the very best in architecture. The AIA believes that awards programs should be carefully structured so that selection and recognition of honorees serve two distinct purposes: one directed to the profession, and the other, to the public. By focusing attention on activity within the profession, the general quality of architectural practice is elevated. By informing the public on the breadth and value of architectural practice, the entire profession is held in higher esteem. AIASC achieves this purpose by establishing and sponsoring the following awards: 

I.  Design Awards - Professional

  • New Construction/Substantial Renovation Award
    • Under 5,000 SF
    • Over 5,000 SF
  • Small Projects/Design Detail Award
  • Urban Design/Master Planning Award
  • Robert Mills Residential Design Award
    • Residential New Construction
      • Under $1,000,000
      • Over $1,000,000
    • Residential Renovation or Addition
      • Under $500,000
      • Over $500,000
  • Adaptive Reuse/Preservation Award
  • Interior Architecture Award
  • Unbuilt Project Award
  • Twenty-Five Year Award
  • F4DE Award – NEW!

II.  Design Awards - Student

  • Student Project Award

III. Chapter Awards - Members

  • Associate Award
  • Firm Award
  • Medal of Distinction
  • Social Justice Award (also open to nonmembers)

IV. Chapter Awards - Nonmembers

  • Patron Award
  • Community Collaboration Award

See the "Categories" tab on the website for descriptions of each of the Design Awards and the Chapter Awards subcategories.

FRAMEWORK FOR DESIGN EXCELLENCE (for Professional Design Awards only)
Developed by members of the AIA, the Framework for Design Excellence represents the defining principles of good design in the 21st century. It’s intended to be accessible and relevant for every architect, every client, and every project — regardless of size, typology, or aspiration. The 10 measures that make up the Framework are intended to inspire progress toward a zero-carbon, equitable, resilient, and healthy built environment.

Entrants in the AIASC Design Awards are required to provide a description of how their project addresses at least 1 of the 10 measures, listed below with optional prompts, in no more than 800 words.

  1. Design for Integration: What is the big idea behind this project and how did sustainability inform the design concept?
  2. Design for Equitable Communities: How does this project contribute to creating a walkable, human-scaled community inside and outside the property lines?
  3. Design for Ecosystems: In what ways does the design respond to the ecology of its place?
  4. Design for Water: How does the project relate to the regional watershed?
  5. Design for Economy: How does the project efficiently meet the program and design challenges and provide “more with less”?
  6. Design for Energy: Is the project energy-efficient and sustainable while improving building performance, function, comfort, and enjoyment?
  7. Design for Wellness: How does the design promote the health of the occupants?
  8. Design for Resources: How did the design team optimize the amount and makeup of material used on the project?
  9. Design for Change: Is the building resilient, and able to easily accommodate other uses in 50-100 years?
  10. Design for Discovery: What lessons for better design have been learned through the process of project design, construction, and occupancy, and how have these been incorporated in subsequent projects?

Click here to learn more about the Framework for Design Excellence.

SUSTAINABILITY (for Professional Design Awards only)
AIASC would like to recognize projects that meet these significant acheivements. This will appear as a checkbox on the submission form.

AIA 2030 Commitment Project
Projects that demonstrate meeting the criteria of the AIA 2030 Commitment. The project would have to have been submitted to the AIA 2030 Commitment with at least an 80% fossil fuel reduction.

Click here to learn more about AIA 2030 Commitment.

Zero-Carbon Project
Projects that have achieved “zero-carbon” energy balance of carbon-free energy consumption.

In a ZNC building, carbon-based energy consumption is reduced first through building design strategies and efficiency measures, then through on-site renewable energy generation, and finally through procurement of locally produced off-site renewable energy.

By establishing a zero-carbon, this ZNC definition can apply to all new and existing building types including those with limited on-site renewable energy capacity, such as buildings in dense urban environments. 

Click here to learn more about Zero-Carbon. 

All entries in the Design Awards - Professional category group shall be projects executed and designed by AIASC members, or project teams consisting of at least one AIASC member in good standing and with an office in South Carolina. Projects may have been executed anywhere in the United States or abroad and must have been substantially completed after January 1, 2019. The number of entries submitted by a firm or individual is not limited. Projects that have previously won an AIASC award are not eligible in that category. All projects, regardless of size, budget, style, building type, or location are eligible. Entries are welcomed and encouraged from both established and new practitioners at any size firm.

All entries in the Design Awards - Student category shall be projects executed and designed by students currently enrolled in an architecture degree program, or those who have graduated after January 1, 2023. Students may enter individually or in teams and must be sponsored by an instructor or professor who is an AIASC member in good standing. 

All nominations for the Chapter Awards–Member and Chapter Awards-Nonmember shall be made by an AIASC member in good standing.  All nominees for a Chapter Award-Member must be a member of AIASC in good standing.

Unpaid Labor Declaration Policy for Design Awards Entrants
If you cannot answer 'Yes' to the Unpaid Labor Declaration Policy below, you are not eligible to submit for the Design Awards. Please contact adrienne@aiasc.org should you have any questions concerning our Unpaid Labor Declaration policy.

“The firm does not utilize, employ, or otherwise engage labor that is unpaid, including working students, and neither does any firm of which the candidate is an owner or manager, in part or in whole.

The firm acknowledges this wording shall cover all persons working under their employ, regardless of position or title. Exceptions recognized by Federal law (such as legally defined internships or educational cooperative programs) are exempt from this Policy.

The firm further acknowledges that they have not utilized any unpaid labor as defined above for any work submitted for this awards program. The submitter personally acknowledges adherence to the terms of this Policy.”

The 2024 AIASC Design Awards Jury Chair will be announced soon.

The Design Awards Jury will convene in July 2024. Awards will be presented during the AIASC Annual Meeting & Awards Celebration in Greenville on October 25, 2024.

May 15, 2024                Awards portal opens at https://aiascawards.secure-platform.com/a 
June 25, 2024               Deadline for early bird discounted entry fees. 
July 29, 2024                Submissions must be completed no later than 11:59 p.m. ET

October 25, 2024         Awards Celebration. Professional Design Award Winners will not be announced prior to the Awards Celebration, and all entrants are expected to attend this exciting event.



  Click here to download a copy of the 2024 Call for Entries


Click here to start an AIA South Carolina Design or Chapter Award submission